The Miles Franklin Award longlist for 2011

      Miles Franklin


It seems there are so many literary prize nomination lists these days that it can be difficult to keep up with them all! Hot on the tail of the Premier’s Literary Prize shortlists is the announcement of the prestigious Miles Franklin Awardlonglist for 2011. Australia’s first and most esteemed literary award celebrates Australian character and creativity and is awarded to the Australian novel displaying the highest literary merit, and which captures the unique qualities of Australian life. Past winners include Tim Winton, Peter Temple, Steven Carroll, Alex Miller, Shirley Hazzard and Peter Carey. The award was established with a bequest from the author Miles Franklin who was concerned to see Australian authors recognised and encouraged for their distinctive work.


Look out for the shortlist to be announced on 19 April followed by the awards on June 22 2011.


The Longlist

  • Rocks in the Belly  Jon Baue
  • The Good Daughter  Honey Brown
  • The Mary Smokes Boys  Patrick Holland
  • The Piper's Son  Melina Marchetta
  • When Colts Ran  Roger McDonald
  • Time's Long Ruin  Stephen Orr
  • That Deadman Dance  Kim Scott
  • The Legacy  Kirten Tranter
  • Bereft  Chris Womersley

Views: 36

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of Mosman Readers to add comments!

Join Mosman Readers


Like Mosman Library Service on Facebook!

Twitter Updates

© 2020   Created by Mosman Library.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service